Console News

PlayStation players can now change their PSN names, but there’s a catch

Earlier this October Sony finally announced and confirmed the rumors that it’s finally allowing users to have their usernames changed, a feature the Xbox platform already have for years now.

This is great news, especially for people who have made their PSN names during their childhood or teenage years and are now kinda embarrassing as an adult but can’t do anything about it.

However there are risks to doing this so you might wanna stop and think about it, and let PlayStation and the developers iron out some bugs first. It seems that PlayStation and its games, and especially older titles, weren’t really designed with a username change in mind, as a lot of things can potential break with just a simple feature. Here is a list of what can possibly happen if you change your name.

• You may lose access to content (including paid-for content) that you have acquired for your games, including content like add-ons and virtual currency.
• You may lose your progress within games, including game saved data, leaderboard data and progress toward trophies.

• Parts of your games and applications might not function properly, both online and offline.

• Your previous Online ID(s) may remain visible to you and other players in some places.

Change Online ID Restrictions During Preview:

The changes during the preview will adhere to the following structure:

• First change is free for all users.

• Second change will be charged at €9.99 / £7.99 (PlayStation®Plus subscribers receive a 50% discount).

• If your previous Online ID violates any of the current Terms of Service, you will not be able to revert back to your previous Online ID.

• You can revert to your previous Online ID once per account during the preview period.

• Sub-Accounts cannot utilise the Change Online ID feature.

• After you change your Online ID, it may take a few hours for some services and applications to reflect the new ID.

If for any reason you have issues after changing your Online ID you can revert back to your previous ID at no charge. However:

• you may only do this once during the preview period;

• changing back to your previous Online ID may not fix all issues (you may not recover all or any lost content, progress and functionality; and

• if you want to change back, do so as soon as possible because changing back to your previous Online ID may affect content, game progress and functionality associated with your new Online ID.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.